Community-Based Health Agencies

Community-Based Health Agencies that staff currently certified International Board Certified Lactation Consultant (IBCLC) certificants can apply online for the IBCLC Care Award! Newly recongnized agencies will be added to the IBCLC Care Directory in April of each year.The listing is valid for two (2) years and agenices must reapply before their expiration year to continue being listed in the directory.

Community-Based Agencies Include:

  • Community Health Agencies
  • Public Health Agencies/Departments
  • Health Clinics
  • Surestart Children's Centers
  • Community based Breastfeeding Drop-In Centers
  • Baby Cafes
  • Lactation Clinics
  • WIC Agencies
  • Ministries of Health
  • Community Based Health Providers
  • Public and Private Physician Offices and Clinics

Steps for Applying for the Community-Based Award:

  • Apply online. Applications will be open January 15, 2018 - February 16, 2018.
  • Formal review by IBLCE & ILCA to be completed by mid April.
  • Announcement of approved facilities by April 27, 2018.

Community-Based Criteria:

  • Have one or more dedicated lactation consultant support positions with IBCLC as the required credential and a dedicated lactation program available at least 2-5 days a week.
  • Provide a description of how the agency/program/clinic/office promotes, protects and supports breastfeeding
  • Provide documentation which includes a description of a project started in the last two years (between January 2016 and January 2018) that promotes, protects and supports breastfeeding and/or the IBCLC certification.

Do you have questions? Does your agency qualify for this award program? How and when can your agency apply? Our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) document may answer them!